Concealment Laws in Ohio and Georgia

You may believe that concealed carrying a gun can help you, but the law may not and you could end up in trouble. If you’re an Ohioan or Georgian, make sure that you read the concealed carry law summaries below before rushing forward and doing what you wish.

Table of Contents


In order to conceal carry, most Ohio residents must have an Ohio Concealed Handgun License (CHL). To get this license, completing eight hours of training with firearms and being 21 years old or older are requirements. The main exceptions for this case are those who are active duty servicepersons and active-duty military personnel. Servicepersons do not need to pay a fee or attend a class. Military personnel only need a valid military ID and training. Non-residents only need a permit from another state but they can also obtain a CHL if they work in the state.


Georgia requires its residents to obtain a Georgia Weapons Carry License (WCL) in order to conceal carry. No training classes are required for a WCL, but you must be at least 21 years old or 18 years old if in the military. Only permits from certain states with which Georgia has a reciprocity agreement are recognized for non-residents. If a firearm remains in certain areas, such as in a person’s home, vehicle, or place of business as well as while hunting, a license isn’t necessary. So wearing concealment jackets with a WCL won’t get you in trouble.

No matter if you believe that guns strengthen and protect or they weaken and destroy, the law is the law. All that the ordinary citizen can do is work with the laws that the government sets. Just remember that it may not be as bad as you think. With enough optimism, you likely can make it work.

Jeffrey Bowman

Jeffrey Bowman